Algeria (Travel Restrictions, COVID Tests & Quarantine Requirements)

This page was last updated on 23 February, 2021.


At a Glance

Travel Restrictions

Tourist Entry: Partially Allowed
Testing: Required to undergo a temperature screening.
Quarantine Required: Yes
Quarantine Details: Quarantine for 14 days required for all countries.

Local Restrictions

Lockdown in Effect: Partial
Events: Partially Allowed
Transport: Operational with restrictions
Shopping: Open
Restaurants and Bars: Open with restrictions

Detailed Travel Advisory

Published 18.02.2021
1. Flights to Algeria are suspended.
– This does not apply to medevac and repatriation flights.
2. Passengers must have a printed medical certificate with a negative Coronavirus (COVID-19) PCR test result issued at most 72 hours before departure. The certificate must be in Arabic, French or English.
– This does not apply to passengers younger than 12 years.
3. Passengers must have an exceptional entry permit (EEP) issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Algeria or by an Algerian embassy.


Detailed Tourist Information

Air, land and sea borders remain closed until further notice.

Entry is limited to:
-Algerian nationals returning on repatriation flights from abroad
-foreign nationals with diplomatic visas
-employees of foreign companies operating in Algeria

There is a process set out by the Algerian Ministry of Foreign Affairs relating to requests for authorisation to enter Algeria. If you think you’re eligible, you will need to contact your employer and/or the British Embassy in Algiers for more information on this process.

If you’re eligible for entry, you will need to self-isolate for 14 days after arrival.

Lockdown Details

In mid-November, the Algerian government imposed mandated 3:00pm daily closures on some businesses, including salons, home goods stores, and commercial centers, in the 32 wilayas, including Algiers. Restaurants and cafes are also subject to the 3:00pm closure requirement and offer only carry-out or delivery services. It is expected that the Algerian government will review these restrictions in mid-December. The lifting of restrictions will be gradual and dependent on the evolution of COVID-19 cases in Algeria.

People are required to wear a protective mask when in public and those who do not comply may be subject to a fine.

All land borders remain closed and the suspension of non-cargo international air and maritime travel remains in place. Domestic air travel resumed in early December. Public and private transportation has been prohibited between the provinces listed below as being impacted by a curfew. Public transportation (and depending on the province, private transportation) may be suspended on Fridays and Saturdays in the provinces affected by a curfew.

A curfew is in effect in 34 of Algeria’s 48 provinces, including in Algiers, where the curfew is from 8 pm to 5 am. The other provinces covered by the curfew are: Adrar, Laghouat, Oum El Bouaghi, Batna, Bejaïa, Biskra, Blida, Bouira, Tébessa, Tlemcen, Tiaret, Tizi-Ouzou, Jijel, Sétif, Guelma, Annaba, Constantine, Médéa, Mostaganem, M’Sila, Ouargla, Oran, Illizi, Bordj Bou Arréridj, Boumerdes, El Tarf, Tindouf, Tissemsilt, El Oued, Khenchela, Souk Ahras, Tipaza, and Aïn Temouchent. Curfews are constantly being reviewed and revised and the curfew may be more restrictive in certain provinces or in certain areas of the provinces above for short periods of time as the health situation develops.

Data Source: