This article has been reviewed and fact-checked by Wego’s editorial team.

As reported by Wego, China has recently extended its visa-free policy for short-term visits, a decision that benefits citizens from 12 nations with the liberty of visa-free travel to China until the end of 2025. This significant development was announced on Tuesday by Lin Jian, the spokesperson for the Chinese Foreign Ministry, underlining China’s dedication to nurturing exchanges between its citizens and those of other nations.


The nations benefiting from this extended policy include France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, Malaysia, Switzerland, Ireland, Hungary, Austria, Belgium, and Luxembourg. Holders of ordinary passports from these countries will be allowed to enter and stay in China visa-free for up to 15 days. The policy covers a range of purposes, including business activities, tourism, visiting relatives and friends, and transit.

This announcement follows inquiries about the Chinese leader’s declaration of the visa-free policy during a diplomatic visit to France. It underscores China’s commitment to enhancing mutual understanding and cooperation with countries worldwide. The extension of the visa-free policy is a strategic move to facilitate smoother exchanges and foster cultural, economic, and diplomatic ties between China and the aforementioned nations. This decision is a testament to China’s ongoing efforts to bolster its international relations.

Book cheap flights to China Book cheap flights to China