This article is reviewed regularly (on a monthly basis) by Wego’s editorial team to ensure that the content is up to date & accurate.

Updated 18 August 2021

The US State Department has updated its travel advisory list to remove and add more countries to its “Level Four: Do Not Travel” advisory list. As July looms, the list of high-risk countries now includes the UAE, Brazil, Kuwait, Oman, Saudi Arabia, among others, citing an increase in the number of COVID-19 cases. 

Wondering if your country is on the list? Here is everything you need to know about the US’ Do Not Travel list. 

What are the countries on the Do Not Travel list?

You can view the complete list here. Travellers are advised to avoid all travel to these destinations or to be fully vaccinated before travelling. However, the recommendations are not mandatory and do not bar Americans from travel.

  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Andorra
  • Antarctica
  • Argentina
  • Aruba
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Belarus
  • Bhutan
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burma (Myanmar)
  • Burundi
  • Central African Republic
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Curacao
  • Cyprus
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Dominica
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Fiji
  • France
  • French Guiana
  • French Polynesia
  • French West Indies
  • Georgia
  • Greece
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Haiti
  • Iceland
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Kiribati
  • Kuwait
  • Lesotho
  • Libya
  • Macau
  • Madagascar
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands
  • Nicaragua
  • North Korea
  • Oman
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Seychelles
  • Solomon Island
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Spain
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Syria
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • The Kyrgyz Republic
  • Tonga
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Tuvalu
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela
  • Yemen
  • Zimbabwe

Low-risk countries

The government has also updated the list of countries classified as safe to travel under the list- “Level 1: COVID-19 Low.”. Travellers are still advised to be fully vaccinated before travel to these destinations.

  • Anguilla
  • Bermuda
  • Comoros
  • Djibouti
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Gabon
  • Grenada
  • Liechtenstein
  • Montserrat
  • Romania
  • Saba
  • Slovakia

Considering the COVID-19 situation, different governments have laid out their respective protocols for passengers arriving at their airports. Before you travel, make sure to read and understand the complete guidelines of the country you are travelling to and comply with the same so as to ease your travel plans.

You can check the entry guidelines for US citizens in different countries here.

All travelers are advised to wear a mask, avoid crowds, stay at least 6 feet from people who are not traveling with you, wash your hands often or use hand sanitizer, and watch your health for signs of illness while traveling. 


Testing guidelines for returnees to the US

All air passengers coming to the United States, including US citizens and fully vaccinated people, are required to have a negative COVID-19 test result taken no more than 3 days before travel or documentation of recovery from COVID-19 in the past 3 months before they board a flight to the United States.  


Quarantine requirements for returnees to the US

After arrival in the United States, get tested with a viral test 3-5 days after travel and stay home and self-quarantine for a full 7 days after travel.

    • Even if you test negative, stay home and self-quarantine for the entire 7 days.
    • If your test is positive, isolate yourself to protect others from getting infected.
    • If you don’t get tested, stay home and self-quarantine for 10 days after travel.