This article has been reviewed and fact-checked by Wego’s editorial team.

In a significant move to enhance global tourism, Iran has decided to waive visa requirements for visitors from 33 additional countries, Wego has learned. This decision, led by the Minister of Cultural Heritage, Tourism, and Handicrafts, Ezzatollah Zarghami, is part of a broader strategy to attract a diverse range of tourists and promote Iran as an appealing destination.


Iran’s expanded visa-waiver program

The expanded list of countries included in the visa-waiver program is as follows:

Bahrain, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Croatia, Cuba, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Malaysia, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Peru, Qatar, Russian Federation (in group visit), Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam, and Zimbabwe.

This initiative builds upon Iran’s previous visa waiver programs for countries including Türkiye, the Republic of Azerbaijan, Oman, China, Armenia, Lebanon, and Syria. With the addition of these 33 nations, Iran aims to further foster cultural exchange and economic cooperation.

A strategic move to boost tourism

The decision to waive visa requirements is a strategic move aimed at boosting tourism arrivals. Recent statistics reveal a substantial increase in foreign arrivals in Iran, reaching 4.4 million during the first eight months of the current Iranian year, marking a remarkable 48.5% surge compared to the same period last year.

Iran’s vision for tourism

The visa-waiver initiative aligns with Iran’s broader vision to position itself as a prominent tourist destination, leveraging its rich cultural heritage, historical sites, and diverse landscapes. As Iran continues to invest in its tourism infrastructure, this move is expected to further elevate Iran’s standing in the global tourism industry.

Book cheap flights on Wego Book cheap flights on Wego