Check what you need before you fly
- Pay the vaccination fee and complete biometric verification on the Pak ID app, or at any e-Sahulat franchise.
- Take the payment and verification receipt to the Federal Government Civil Dispensary, the only centre approved for Hajj and Umrah travellers.
- Download your card from nims.nadra.gov.pk once the shots are recorded, and save a copy to your phone.
Karachi will enforce the NADRA-linked digital vaccination certificate requirement from 25 September 2026 at 10:00. Pilgrims are simply the group airlines were told to check first. Karachi enforces it first, then Peshawar, Islamabad and Lahore.
What each vaccination covers
| Vaccination | Who needs it |
|---|---|
| Meningitis, ACYW135 | Every Hajj and Umrah traveller. Saudi Arabia requires it of pilgrims.Rs 2,785 |
| Influenza | Every Hajj and Umrah traveller, under the new notice.Rs 1,720 |
| Polio | Everyone leaving Pakistan. This certificate was already issued through NADRA.Fee not stated in the notice |
| Yellow fever | Only travellers arriving from or transiting Africa, Central America or South America.Fee not stated in the notice |
Compare what is flying out of Karachi, Lahore and Islamabad on your dates.
Questions
Does this apply to all international travel from Pakistan, or only Hajj and Umrah?
The card is for everyone leaving Pakistan on an international flight, not only pilgrims. What has to be recorded on it depends on where you are going: polio applies to everyone, meningitis is a Saudi condition for pilgrims, and yellow fever only covers arrivals through Africa, Central America or South America. Pilgrims therefore need the fullest card, which is why airlines were told to check them at the gate. Karachi enforces it first, with Peshawar, Islamabad and Lahore to follow. Our guide to Pakistan airport immigration checks covers the rest of the paperwork.
I was vaccinated at a private hospital. Will that certificate work?
No. In Karachi, only a NADRA-integrated certificate will be accepted from 25 September 2026 at 10:00. Register through the Pak ID app or an e-Sahulat franchise, then collect the NADRA card from the Federal Government Civil Dispensary.
How much does the NADRA vaccination card cost?
Rs 2,785 for meningitis and Rs 1,720 for influenza, Rs 4,505 together, plus a Rs 150 NADRA service charge. Pakistani press has reported some facilitation centres in Karachi asking Rs 6,000 to Rs 7,000, so pay on the Pak ID app or at an e-Sahulat counter and keep the receipt.
Do I need a yellow fever vaccination for Umrah?
Only if you are arriving from or transiting a country in Africa, Central America or South America. Someone flying straight from Karachi to Jeddah or Madinah does not need it. Meningitis is the one Saudi Arabia does require of pilgrims, and our guide to Umrah packages from Pakistan covers what else a pilgrim has to have ready.
What happens if the NADRA system is down when I reach the airport?
That happened in Karachi on 14 September 2026. Staff issued certificates by hand and gave priority to passengers whose flights were closest. It is the reason to get the card days before you travel rather than at the departure counter. If you still need the visa, see how to apply for the Umrah visa from Pakistan.
Sources
- Dawn, the requirement, the four vaccinations and the six-hour airport rule, retrieved 14 September 2026.
- The Express Tribune, the notification issued by the Airport Health Officer, retrieved 14 September 2026.
- Arab News Pakistan, the extension of Karachi’s implementation deadline to 25 September 2026 at 10:00, retrieved 15 September 2026.
- Geo News, the authorised centre, the yellow fever rule and the rollout to Peshawar, Islamabad and Lahore, retrieved 14 September 2026.
- Pakistan Observer, the Pak ID fee schedule and the overcharging reports, retrieved 14 September 2026.
- Daily Pakistan, the system outage in Karachi on 14 September 2026, retrieved 14 September 2026.
- Airblue, the airline advisory to passengers departing Karachi, retrieved 14 September 2026.
- Aaj English, the requirement applying to all outbound travellers, retrieved 14 September 2026.
- Daily Pakistan, the same scope confirmed independently, retrieved 14 September 2026.
How this page was put together
- The rule is read from the Border Health Services Pakistan notice of 7 September 2026 as reported by national press. The notice itself is not published online.
- Fees are the Pak ID app schedule reported on 12 September 2026. No fee was stated for the polio or yellow fever certificates, so neither is given one here.
- Scope was checked against several outlets because the airline advisories name only pilgrims. The rule covers every outbound international traveller, with Hajj and Umrah called out because carriers were instructed to verify pilgrims at the gate. Karachi is the first airport to enforce it.
- One point is not settled by any source found. Reports state the general rule and then describe only the pilgrim process, so whether a non-pilgrim traveller must carry meningitis and influenza as well as polio is not stated. This page does not answer it either way.
- No fares were sampled. The flight button hands off to a live Wego Pakistan search, priced at the moment the reader runs it.
Disclaimer: We’ve worked hard to make sure the information in this article is as accurate and up to date as possible at the time of publishing. Travel details such as prices, schedules, visa rules, and entry requirements can change at short notice, so it remains your responsibility to verify the current details with official sources before you book or travel. Wego accepts no liability for any loss or inconvenience arising from the use of this content.

