This article has been reviewed and fact-checked by Wego’s editorial team.

In a move aimed at promoting fairness and reciprocity, the Republic of Namibia has announced significant changes to its visa policies, Wego reports. These adjustments impact nationals from 31 countries and seek to address historical disparities in visa treatment.


Due to the above-mentioned disparity, the cabinet of the Republic of Namibia has approved the implementation of visa-on-arrival with an applicable fee in addition to online visa application for the below-mentioned 31 countries:

  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • Moldova
  • Netherland
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkmenistan
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Uzbekistan

The Ministry of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety, and Security will provide clear guidelines and procedures for visa issuance. The specific implementation date will be communicated through diplomatic channels.

The Republic of Namibia emphasizes that these adjustments are not intended to hinder legitimate travel. Rather, they aim to safeguard Namibian citizens’ interests globally while upholding the principle of reciprocity in international relations.