This article has been reviewed and fact-checked by Wego’s editorial team.

As announced by the High Commission of Sri Lanka in India, Sri Lanka has once again extended its free visa application scheme, allowing citizens of China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Russia and Thailand to enjoy visa-free travel until 31 May 2024, Wego reports.

Last year, Sri Lanka introduced this free visa scheme, which was later extended until 30 April 2024. As previously reported in our coverage of the initial announcement and the subsequent extension, this move was aimed at promoting tourism, attracting visitors and fostering close ties with key markets.

Sri Lanka Extends Free Visa Regime for Seven Countries Until 30 April 2024


And now, the good news continues as this waiver has been prolonged once more, giving tourists more time to plan their trips hassle-free.

To avail of this opportunity, eligible travelers can apply for the eVisa through the official Sri Lankan immigration website. Simply log on and select the e-Visa (Non-residence) option. Alternatively, tourists from these countries can also obtain their visa upon arrival in Sri Lanka.

Book Your Visa Through Wego Book Your Visa Through Wego