This article is reviewed regularly (on a monthly basis) by Wego’s editorial team to ensure that the content is up to date & accurate.

Updated 23 April 2021

Following the suspension of all travel corridors for people arriving in the UK, the government has replaced the country’s green list with a red list of travel ban countries. Entry to the UK is currently prohibited for non-residents departing from the countries included on the list.

Wondering if your country is on the list? Here is everything you need to know about the UK’s red list.

What are the countries on the red list?

If you have been in or through any of the countries listed below in the previous 10 days, you will be refused entry to the UK. This does not apply to citizens and those with residency rights

  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Ecuador
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Suriname
  • Tanzania
  • United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe


Quarantine requirements

British citizens and residents coming from the red-listed countries will face a 10-day mandatory quarantine in government-approved hotels upon arrival.

Travellers coming from other countries not on the red list will also have to quarantine for 10 days, but they will be allowed to do so at home.

Travellers will have to give the address and details of the place of quarantine on their passenger locator form.

Breaking the quarantine rules means facing a penalty of up to £10,000


Testing guidelines

Two tests will be administered on the 2nd and the 8th day of the quarantine.

If a traveller receives a positive result from the day 2 test, they must quarantine for 10 days beginning the day after the test was taken (this means until day 13). If the said traveller is in quarantine with people they have travelled with, they will also need to quarantine until day 13.

Receiving a positive result from the day 2 test means further tests will not be required.

On day 8, the traveller will need to take a COVID-19 test unless they have received a positive result from the day 2 test. If receiving a positive test result from the day 8 test, said traveller will be required to quarantine until day 19.

If the traveller has quarantined for 10 days and received a negative result to both tests, they may then end their quarantine.

We will update this article as new developments unfold.

Featured image © pikisuperstar/Freepik