US To Hungary Travel Restrictions, Flights News & Travel Ban In 2021 – Advisory & Requirements

This page was last updated on 03 November, 2021.


At a Glance

Most travelers from United States are allowed to enter Hungary, but there are restrictions.
Source: Hungary Police

Hungary: Open for Travel

Travel is allowed with restrictions
Travelers are allowed to enter Hungary. Please check the documentation, quarantine, and/or testing requirements before traveling.

Source: Hungary Police


No quarantine required
Travelers are not required to quarantine on arrival in Hungary.

Source: Hungarian Government

COVID-19 test required

Proof of negative COVID-19 test results may be required for vaccinated travelers
Travelers who were vaccinated in the United States are required to have a negative COVID-19 PCR test result. The test result must be issued a maximum of 72 hours before arrival.

Travelers vaccinated outside the United States who are able to present a certificate recognized by the Hungarian Government are not required to present COVID-19 test results.

Details and Exemptions:Travelers unable to present a valid certificate recognized by the Hungarian Government will be required to comply with rules for unvaccinated travelers.
Source: Hungary Police

Masks are required

Masks are mandatory in some locations
Travelers must wear masks in social care settings and hospitals.

Source: Hungarian Government

Required Documents for your Trip

Mandatory proof of vaccination
Vaccinated travelers must have proof that they have been vaccinated against COVID-19 on at least 1 occasion and that 1 year has not passed since the first vaccination with a vaccine approved by the European Medicines Agency, World Health Organization for emergency use, or with a vaccine allowed in Hungary.

Travelers with access to the EU Digital Certificate may use it to present proof.

Travelers from a country outside of the EU and that have made an agreement with the Hungarian government to accept foreign vaccination certificates may provide a vaccination certificate issued in those countries. Currently, vaccination certificates are also accepted from these countries: Albania, Austria, Bahrain, Cyprus, Czech Republic, North Macedonia, Georgia, Croatia, India, Kazakhstan, Morocco, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Russia, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Turkey, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, and Cape Verde.

Please check the source for more details.

Source: Hungary Police
Document: Explore EU Digital COVID Certificate