Nauru (Travel Restrictions, COVID Tests & Quarantine Requirements)

This page was last updated on 16 December, 2021.


At a Glance

Travel Restrictions

Entry For Vaccinated Travelers: Partially Allowed
Tourist Entry: Partially Allowed
Testing: All persons travelling to Nauru need to undergo pre-travel screening and must present evidence of a negative PCR COVID test, undertaken not more than 3 days before travel to Nauru.
Quarantine Required: Yes
Quarantine Details: All persons arriving in Nauru will need to spend up to 14 days in “Government Transition Accommodation” in Nauru. Travel via Australia and New Zealand

Local Restrictions

Lockdown in Effect: Partial
Events: Partially Allowed
Transport: Operational with restrictions
Shopping: Open
Restaurants and Bars: Open with restrictions

Detailed Travel Advisory

Published 16.11.2021
1. Passengers and airline crew arriving from Australia (states of Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales or Victoria) are not allowed to enter.
2. Passengers must have been the past 14 days in Australia (excluding the states of Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales or Victoria), Chinese Taipei, Cook Isl., Kiribati, Marshall Isl., Micronesia (Federated States), New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Samoa, Solomon Isl., Tonga, Tuvalu or Vanuatu.
3 Passengers must have a negative COVID-19 PCR test taken at most 3 days before departure from the first embarkation point. The test must be based on nasopharyngeal and/or oropharyngeal swab. The test result must be in English or accompanied by a certified translation in English.
4. Passengers are subject to medical screening and quarantine for a minimum of 5 days.


Detailed Tourist Information

The only scheduled flight to Nauru is now a fortnightly service, on alternate Fridays, Brisbane-Nauru-Brisbane

Nauru authorities are requesting all persons to consider whether travel to Nauru is necessary and all persons are asked to cancel or postpone any non-essential travel to Nauru.

Only passengers who have spent at least the previous 14 days in the following countries will be considered eligible to enter Nauru:

Australia (NOT including Victoria), Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Taiwan, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

Travellers wishing to enter Nauru from a country not listed above must apply for an exemption from the Nauru government. Passengers who have transited through, or have been in mainland China, Hong Kong, Macao, Iran, Italy, Korea, Europe, USA or Asia (except Taiwan) in the past 21 days, will not be allowed to enter Nauru.

Lockdown Details

Nauru has not implemented widespread lockdown or social distancing measures. Public gatherings are restricted to no more than 10 people.

Data Source: