This article is reviewed regularly (on a monthly basis) by Wego’s editorial team to ensure that the content is up to date & accurate. 

Updated 4 November 2021

Egypt, the great land of mummies and monuments, Pharaohs and pyramids, is a treasure trove for adventure seekers and casual tourists alike. Much to their relief, Egypt is now open for all, with specific testing and quarantine restrictions for certain high-risk countries. 

So what countries are listed on Egypt’s green list? Can you travel to Egypt for leisure purposes? Here’s all you need to know about the Egypt green list.

Does Egypt have a green list?

Egypt has not officially announced a green list of countries allowed entry into the country. As it stands, foreign travellers wishing to visit the home of the great pyramids may do so provided they are able to satisfy Egypt’s COVID-19 requirements as well as other prerequisites pertaining to entry and visa.


Egypt entry requirements

Before departing for Egypt, all travellers must complete a Public Health Card to be presented on arrival in Egypt. 

Upon arrival, all international arrivals must comply with the following special COVID-19 rules to be granted entry into the country.  

  • All arrivals above the age of 6, including Egyptian citizens, must provide a negative PCR test taken within 72 hours of departure. This extends to 96 hours for arrivals from Japan, China, Thailand, North America, South America, Canada, the UK (London), France (Paris), and Germany (Frankfurt).  
  • The test must be based on a nasal or oral swab, and an approved laboratory should issue the certificate. Certificates are accepted only in Arabic or English.  
  • All travellers must complete a Personal monitoring card and show proof of health insurance on arrival.  
  • Passengers should provide flight information and contact details. The authorities will notify them if someone they travelled with later tests positive for COVID-19. They will be required to self-isolate in that case. 

Vaccination requirement

Egypt does not require international arrivals to have been fully vaccinated. However, it should be noted that travellers arriving with a COVID-19 vaccination certificate stating full vaccination at least 14 days before travel will be exempt from testing.

Accepted vaccines are AstraZeneca, Janssen, Moderna, Pfizer, BioNTech, Sinopharm, Sinovac, and Sputnik V.  

Testing requirement 

Passengers who arrive from any of the following countries are subject to a COVID-19 PCR test on arrival in Egypt.  

Argentina, Bangladesh, Belize, Bhutan, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, India, Mexico, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela, or Vietnam.  

Alternatively, passengers on direct flights to any of the airports listed below will also be required to take a PCR test on arrival if they fail to obtain the medical certificate before departure.  

  • Hurghada (HRG)  
  • Marsa Alam (RMF)  
  • Sharm El Sheikh (SSH)  
  • Taba (TCP) 

Quarantine requirement 

There is no quarantine requirement for passengers arriving in Egypt. However, travellers who have to undergo a PCR test on arrival should stay in their hotel room until they receive the result. Individuals are generally notified of the result in 12 to 24 hours.  

In case of a positive result, self-isolation for 14 days is mandatory. The cost of this test has to be covered by the travellers.

Visa requirement

Egypt is currently open for tourism, and specific flights have also started resuming. Foreign nationals may travel to Egypt as long as they meet the country’s COVID-19 restrictions and guidelines.  

Visitors from eligible countries should apply for an Egypt e-visa online prior to their travels. Note that not all countries are eligible for the e-visa. The eligible countries are as follows.

Albania, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States.  

Travellers from other countries not mentioned above must obtain their visas from the nearest Egyptian embassy or consulate.

Visa exemption is also available for specified countries. These are Bahrain, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Lebanon (for certain airports only on a charter flight), Macao, Oman, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and Malaysia for a stay of 14 days.