This article is reviewed regularly (on a monthly basis) by Wego’s editorial team to ensure that the content is up to date & accurate.

Updated 20 April 2022

The road back to normalcy following the devastating second wave and gradually declining COVID-19 cases in India seems a long way, with the advent of the latest variation of the novel coronavirus, the Omicron variant. Initially discovered in South Africa, the variant has now been detected in several countries in Africa and some European countries. 

With a decline in the number of Omicron cases, authorities have eased most of the Covid-19 restrictions all over the country. Here are the government’s latest travel guidelines you need to be aware of.

What are the latest restrictions made to combat Omicron?

The B.1.1.529 variant, also known as the Omicron variant, has recently been classified as a Variant of Concern (VOA) by the World Health Organization (WHO). The first confirmed Omicron infection was from a specimen collected in early November 2021 in South Africa amidst a steep rise in infection cases. 

While it’s not yet clear whether the variant has been the driving force behind the country’s rapid spread, countries worldwide, including India, have implemented travel bans and restrictions for travellers from South Africa and other African countries.

International arrivals 

Following the discovery of Omicron, the authorities in India have revised their travel guidelines for International travellers. The Centre has now mandated submitting:

  • Submit complete and factual information in self-declaration form on the online Air Suvidha portal before the scheduled travel, including the last 14 days of travel details.
  • Upload any of the two documents:
    • A negative COVID-19 RT-PCR report conducted within 72 hrs prior to undertaking the journey
    • Certificate of completing full primary vaccination schedule of COVID-19 vaccination. (Only some eligible countries)
  • Each passenger shall also submit a declaration with respect to the authenticity of the report and will be liable for criminal prosecution if found otherwise.
  • Passengers should also give an undertaking on the portal or otherwise to the Ministry of Civil Aviation, Government of India, through concerned airlines before they are allowed to undertake the journey that they would abide by the decision of the appropriate government authority regarding any post-arrival requirement to undergo home/institutional quarantine/ self-health monitoring, as warranted.

International passengers arriving through seaports/land ports will also have to undergo the same protocol, except that online registration is not currently available for such travellers. Such travellers shall submit the self-declaration form to the concerned authorities of the Government of India at seaports/land ports on arrival. 

State-wise restrictions

Please note that RT PCR testing is NO longer mandatory for domestic travel. However, the authorities have allowed the states to take precautions and implement Covid-19 rules, as and when required.

Most of the states and union territories in India have lifted all Covid-19 curbs and are following the guidelines laid out by the Government of India for International arrivals. Given below are states that still have some restrictions imposed, amidst rising Covid-19 cases in India.


International arrivals in Delhi are no longer required to quarantine for seven days or get mandatorily tested at the airport. All passengers have to download the Aarogya Setu app.

Even though most of the restrictions have been lifted, amidst a sudden rise in the number of Covid-19 cases, the Delhi Disaster Management Authority (DDMA) has announced to bring back its mandatory mask rule, imposing a fine of INR 500 ($6.56) on people not who do not wear face masks in the national capital.

However, schools would remain open and guidelines to prevent the spread of infection on campuses would be issued after discussion with experts.


Even though most of the restrictions shave been lifted, the Haryana government has reimposed restrictions making face masks mandatory in select districts. With an increase in the number of Covid-19 cases in Gurugram, the wearing of a mask has been made compulsory in three other districts, including Faridabad, Sonipat and Jhajjar.


With an increase in the number of Covid-19 cases in eight countries, including China, South Korea, Vietnam, Japan, Thailand, United Kingdom, Italy and Germany, Hong Kong and Australia, and a few states in India, the Karnataka government has decided to strictly monitor travellers coming from the risk countries and regions.

The travellers will have to go through the thermal scanner, and those found symptomatic will be tested. If found positive, their samples will be genome-sequenced for the new variant XE. Furthermore, the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) of Karnataka has also suggested mandatory quarantine for a period of 7-10 days for passengers from these countries. However, the government is yet to release guidelines regarding this.


All passengers arriving in Maharashtra will have to download the Aarogya Setu app and furnish self-declaration on arrival.

Maharashtra has lifted most of its Covid-19 restrictions, including the mask mandate. As the wearing of masks is not mandatory in Maharashtra, the authorities have urged all citizens with comorbidities to cover their faces when in public as a precaution.

West Bengal

For International passengers travelling to West Bengal, the authorities have announced that upcoming arrivals, should follow the Covid-19 rules for International arrivals laid out by the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare.

There are no incoming domestic flight restrictions to West Bengal from any part of the country, provided that the passengers are either fully vaccinated or an RT-PCR test has been conducted within 72 hours of arrival in West Bengal.

All other Covid-19 restrictions in the state have been lifted.