This article has been reviewed by Wego’s editorial team to ensure that the content is up to date & accurate.

Updated March 2024

Malaysia is a country that offers a unique blend of natural beauty, rich culture, and modern cities. The diverse landscapes of Malaysia include lush rainforests, beautiful beaches, and stunning mountains while its culture is just as diverse and enticing.

With such an impressive pedigree, every traveller should be checking out Malaysia right now. Moreover, Malaysia’s visa process is straightforward for most countries, and the e-visa is making things even simpler. Read more on Wego to learn more.

Malaysia e-visa

A Malaysia e-visa is an electronic visa that allows eligible foreign nationals to enter and travel within Malaysia for tourism, business, or medical purposes. It can be obtained through an online application process and is valid for a specific period of time. The Malaysia e-visa conveniently eliminates the need to apply for a traditional visa at a Malaysian consulate or embassy.

Book cheap flights to Malaysia


Malaysia e-visa eligible countries

As per the Malaysian government portal, countries eligible for the Malaysian e-visa are as follows:

  • Afghanistan (VDR)
  • Angola
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Congo Democratic Republic
  • Congo Republic
  • Djibouti
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Hong Kong (C.I/D.I)
  • India
  • Ivory Coast
  • Kosovo
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Montenegro
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Nigeria
  • Niger
  • Pakistan
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • Sri Lanka

Malaysia e-visa application

Malaysia e-Visa can be applied from countries all around the world except Malaysia, Israel, and North Korea. You can start your online application process on the official website of Malaysia Visa.

First-time applicants are required to select the “I’m New” option to start their application process.

Existing applicants are required to click on “Returning User” to return to their account.

Below are the required documents for your Malaysia e-Visa application:

Required documents

  • passport-sized studio photo
  • passport biodata page with passport validity of more than six (6) months from the travel date to Malaysia
  • confirmed return flight booking
  • birth certificates for minor applicants
  • proof of accommodation
  • other supporting documents

You are required to print out your Malaysia e-visa in an A4 format. Kindly be reminded that the printout is crucial and must be presented upon your arrival at Malaysia entry checkpoints.

The visa application will be approved by the High Commission/ Embassy / Consulate General of Malaysia abroad. In case there is any suspicion, you will be required to supply further documents or be called for an interview or online video conference.

Other documents to present at Malaysia entry checkpoints:

  1. a valid passport/travel document
  2. a valid Malaysia e-visa printout (eVISA Note)
  3. a boarding pass
  4. sufficient funds (cash/traveler’s cheque/debit or credit cards/e-wallets recognized by Malaysian Government) to cover your expenses during your stay in Malaysia
  5. a confirmed return flight ticket
  6. a proof of accommodation; and
  7. other supporting documents.

Malaysia e-visa fee

The fee for a Malaysia e-visa varies between countries and ranges from RM 9 to 50. Additionally, applicants will also need to pay the processing charge of RM 105.

Please note that there is a service charge for several payment methods. Applicants who use e-commerce/Mastercard payment will be charged 0.8% of the transaction value. Meanwhile, those who use eWallet, such as Alipay, Wechat pay, and Union pay, will be charged 1.7% of the transaction value.

Malaysia e-visa status check

You can check your Malaysia e-visa status on the ‘Verify Your Visa’ on the official website. Follow the steps below to check the status of your Malaysia e-visa:

  1. Visit the website
  2. Input your passport number
  3. Input your sticker number
  4. Tick on ‘eVisa’
  5. Fill out the captcha
  6. Tick on the ‘I have obtained my eVisa’ if you have obtained your Maaysia e-visa
  7. Click ‘check’

Malaysia e-visa validity

Malaysia e-Visa is valid for 3 months, and grants stay periods of 14 or 30 days based on the country.

30-day validity

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Bangladesh
  3. Bhutan
  4. China
  5. India
  6. Kosovo
  7. Montenegro
  8. Myanmar
  9. Nepal
  10. Pakistan
  11. Serbia
  12. Sri Lanka

14-day validity

  1. Angola
  2. Burkina Faso
  3. Burundi
  4. Cameroon
  5. Central African Republic
  6. Colombia
  7. Congo Democratic Republic
  8. Congo Republic
  9. Djibouti
  10. Equatorial Guinea
  11. Eritrea
  12. Ethiopia
  13. Ghana
  14. Guinea-Bissau
  15. Hong Kong
  16. Ivory Coast
  17. Liberia
  18. Mali
  19. Mozambique
  20. Nigeria
  21. Niger
  22. Rwanda

Malaysia e-visa extension

The Malaysia tourism e-visa is only available for a single entry and can not be extended.


[Total: 121 Average: 4.6]