This article is reviewed regularly (on a monthly basis) by Wego’s editorial team to ensure that the content is up to date & accurate. 

Updated 14 July 2021

Ever since the beginning of the pandemic, Bahrain has greatly restricted who’s allowed to cross its borders in a bid to contain the spread of COVID-19. A melting pot of diverse cultures, Bahrain is also home to several expats who are waiting to return to this island nation. 

However, they may need to wait longer as the Bahrain Civil Aviation Affairs has suspended entry of travellers from countries on its “Red List” ever since May. 

So which countries are on the Red List? Who are exempt from this travel ban?

Red list countries

In line with the guidance of the Coordinating Committee and on the recommendations of the National Medical Team for Combatting the Coronavirus (COVID-19), Civil Aviation Affairs announced the suspension of all passengers arriving in the Kingdom of Bahrain on flights from red-listed countries.

Here is the list of all 22 countries included in the Red List:

  1. India
  2. Pakistan
  3. Nepal
  4. Sri Lanka
  5. Bangladesh
  6. Vietnam
  7. Mozambique
  8. Myanmar
  9. Zimbabwe
  10. Mongolia
  11. Namibia
  12. Mexico
  13. Tunisia
  14. Iran
  15. South Africa
  16. Indonesia
  17. Iraq
  18. Philippines
  19. Panama
  20. Malaysia
  21. Uganda
  22. Dominican Republic

Travellers exempt from the travel ban

Bahrain will allow entry only for the following categories of travellers departing from the banned countries:

  1. Bahrain citizens
  2. Residents of Bahrain
  3. GCC citizens who do not need visas (Saudi Arabia, UAE, Kuwait and Oman)
  4. Passengers eligible to obtain a visa on arrival
  5. Passengers with a valid electronic visa
  6. Military
  7. Crews

Testing requirements

Travellers from countries on the Red List must present an approved PCR test certificate with a QR Code 48 hours before departure for 

Travellers from countries not on the Red List must present an RT-PCR test certificate taken 72 hours before departure. 

Travellers from all countries must undergo the PCR test again upon arrival and on the 10th day after arrival. (costing BHD 24 for both). The cost of the PCR test can be paid through the “BeAware Bahrain” mobile application in addition to the platforms at the airport, which permit to pay in cash or electronically by credit cards. 

These rules apply to all travellers, vaccinated or non-vaccinated, arriving to the Kingdom of Bahrain.

Quarantine requirements

Mandatory quarantine will be relevant for both vaccinated and non-vaccinated travellers from all countries. All arrivals must quarantine for 10 days in their own homes or at a licensed quarantine facility approved by the National Health Regulatory Authority.

You are also required to provide proof of a pre-paid booking in your name at a quarantine facility before departure to Bahrain.

Travellers who choose to spend their quarantine periods at their homes must provide proof of residence, whether owned or rented in their name or the name of an immediate relative, before boarding.

Are there flights to Bahrain now?

Yes, flights to Bahrain have resumed and are now easily available.

Most airports in the country are now operational, so you’ll be able to fly into Bahrain from any corner of the world.

Book cheap flights to Bahrain here Book cheap flights to Bahrain here