This article is reviewed regularly by Wego‘s editorial team to ensure that the content is up to date & accurate.

Updated May 2023

The eagerly anticipated ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 is the 13th edition of the prestigious ODI tournament by the ICC. This highly awaited event, held every four years, features intense competition among men’s national teams. Scheduled for October and November, it’s a must-watch sporting extravaganza.

Keep reading to find out more about the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

A total of 48 matches will be played between the ten ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 teams. It brings together the best cricketing nations worldwide to compete for the prestigious title of World Champions. With the first match scheduled on 5 October 2023 and the final game on 19th November 2023, the next edition of the ICC ODI World Cup is set to take place this year, and the excitement among cricket fans is already building.

Book cheap flights to India



The detailed schedule for the tournament is yet to be announced, but the first match is scheduled for 5 October 2023, and the final game is set for 19 November 2023.

Team list

The top eight teams, including the host nation India, have earned automatic qualification for the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup. These teams are India, Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, Pakistan, West Indies, and New Zealand.

The remaining teams, Sri Lanka, Ireland, South Africa, Zimbabwe, and the Netherlands, will compete in the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualifier. Two teams will secure their spots in the 2023 World Cup alongside the already-qualified teams from this qualifier tournament.

Event Host Dates Participating Teams
ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League Various July 2020 – March 2023 Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe
ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier Play-Off TBC 2023 Bottom teams from Men’s CWC League 2 x4
Top teams from Challenge Leagues A and B x2
ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier Zimbabwe 18 June – 9 July 2023 Bottom teams from Men’s CWC Super League x5
Top teams from Men’s CWC League 2 x3
Top teams from Men’s CWC Qualifier Play-Off x2
ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 India 5 October – 19 November 2023 India as Hosts
Top teams from Men’s CWC Super League x7
Top teams from Men’s CWC Qualifier x2


The 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup will feature 10 teams, just like in the 2019 edition. The tournament format will follow the same structure as the 1992 and 2019 Cricket World Cups.

Each team will participate in a round-robin format, playing against all the other teams in a randomly selected order. Following the round-robin stage, four teams will qualify for the semi-finals. The top two teams from the semi-finals will then progress to the final match to compete for the ultimate championship title.


For the first time, the ICC World Cup 2023 is being hosted entirely by India, after the country co-hosted previous tournaments in 1987 with Pakistan, in 1996 with West Pakistan and Ceylon, and in 2011 with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.


Although the official venues or stadiums in India for World Cup matches have not been revealed yet, given below is a chart of thirteen (13) possible stadium venues across India where the tournament matches could take place:

Cricket Venues List Location
1 MA Chidambaram Stadium Chennai
2 Arun Jaitley Stadium New Delhi
3 Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium Hyderabad
4 Wankhede Stadium Mumbai
5 Eden Gardens Kolkata
6 Sawai Mansingh Stadium Jaipur
7 DY Patil Stadium Navi Mumbai
8 Narendra Modi Stadium Ahmedabad
9 Holkar Stadium Indore
10 Raipur International Cricket Stadium Raipur
11 Green Park Stadium Kanpur
12 VCA Stadium Nagpur
13 HPCA Stadium Dharamshala
14 Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium Kochi
15 M. Chinnaswamy Stadium Bangalore

The ICC Cricket World Cup winners

Here is a list of the previous champions of the ICC Men’s World Cup, showcasing the teams that have achieved glory on cricket’s biggest platform:

Year Host country Winner
1975 England West Indies
1979 England West Indies
1983 England India
1987 India Australia
1992 Australia and New Zealand Pakistan
1996 Pakistan, India and Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
1999 England Australia
2003 South Africa Australia
2007 West Indies Australia
2010 India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh India
2015 Australia and New Zealand Australia
2019  England England

Get ready to witness another thrilling edition of the ICC Men’s World Cup in a nation where cricket goes beyond just a sport—it’s a way of life. This season promises to ignite your passion and have you supporting your favorite teams. For the latest updates and more detailed information on the ICC Cricket World Cup, visit ICC Cricket.

[Total: 124 Average: 4.6]