This article has been reviewed by Wego’s editorial team to ensure that the content is up to date & accurate.

Reviewed August 2023

Get ready for an electrifying showdown at the 16th Asia Cup 2023! Hosted by cricket-loving nations Pakistan and Sri Lanka in August and September, this prestigious tournament by the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) will bring together Asia’s finest teams vying for the ultimate championship. Brace yourself for jaw-dropping clashes, including the epic India vs Pakistan match – the highlight that makes Asia Cup 2023 an absolute must-watch.

Read on as Wego lists out everything you need to know about the Asia Cup 2023.

Asia Cup 2023

The Asia Cup 2023 is a cricket tournament that will showcase the best teams and players from the Asian continent. What sets the Asia Cup 2023 apart is that it will be jointly hosted by two nations for the first time ever. Pakistan and Sri Lanka will be co-hosts for the tournament, with Pakistan hosting four matches and Sri Lanka hosting the remaining nine.

Notably, Sri Lanka enters the competition as the defending champion, having clinched victory in the Asia Cup 2022 by defeating Pakistan in a thrilling final.

This year, the Asia Cup will return to the 50-over format of the game as teams prepare for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023. This format change comes after the 2022 edition, which was played in the 20-over format.

Book cheap flights with Wego Book cheap flights with Wego


Asia Cup 2023 teams

There will be six teams competing at the Asia Cup 2023. They have been divided into two groups of three for the first phase of the tournament. 

Here are the teams according to their groups:

Group A

  • India
  • Pakistan
  • Nepal

Group B

  • Sri Lanka
  • Bangladesh
  • Afghanistan

Asia Cup 2023 date and time

The cricket boards of Pakistan and Sri Lanka jointly announced the dates for the Asia Cup 2023. The first match will be played on August 30 between Pakistan and Nepal, and the tournament concludes with the final on September 17.

The much-anticipated showdown between India and Pakistan is set for September 2 in Kandy, Sri Lanka.

Asia Cup 2023 schedule

Jay Shah, president of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) has announced the schedule for the Asia Cup 2023.

A total of 13 matches will be played in the Asia Cup 2023, with the tournament divided into phases. ​​In the first phase, the six teams will be divided into two groups of three teams, who will play each other. The top 2 teams from each group qualify for the Super 4 phase. In the Super 4 phase, the four teams play each other once. The top 2 teams will qualify for the final, which will be played on September 17. 

Here is the detailed schedule for the Asia Cup 2023

Group stage

August 30 Pakistan v Nepal Multan
August 31 Bangladesh v Sri Lanka Kandy
September 2 India v Pakistan Kandy
September 3 Bangladesh v Afghanistan Lahore
September 4 India v Nepal Kandy
September 5 Sri Lanka v Afghanistan Lahore


Super 4s stage

Irrespective of their positions after the first round:

  • Pakistan will remain AI.
  • India will remain A2.
  • If either of them (India or Pakistan) doesn’t qualify, then Nepal will take their position.
  • Sri Lanka will remain BI.
  • Bangladesh will remain 82.
  • If either of them (Sri Lanka or Bangladesh) doesn’t qualify, then Afghanistan will take their position.
September 7 A1 v B2 Lahore
September 9 B1 v B2 Colombo
September 10 A1 v A2 Colombo
September 12 A2 v B1 Colombo
September 14 A1 v B1 Colombo
September 15 A2 v B2 Colombo



September 17 Super 4: 1 v 2 Colombo


Asia Cup 2023 venue

As mentioned above, Pakistan and Sri Lanka are jointly hosting the Asia Cup 2023. The tournament will be played at four venues across both of these countries. 

The venues for Asia Cup 2023 are:

  • Multan Cricket Stadium, Multan, Pakistan
  • Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore, Pakistan
  • Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Kandy, Sri Lanka
  • R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Asia Cup past winners

The Asia Cup was first held in the year 1984 in Sharjah, UAE. Since then, it has been held 15 times, with the format ranging across the ODI and T20 formats. Here’s a list of the past winners of the Asia Cup:

1984 India
1986 Sri Lanka
1988 India
1990 India
1995 India
1997 Sri Lanka
2000 Pakistan
2004 Sri Lanka
2008 Sri Lanka
2010 India
2012 Pakistan
2014 Sri Lanka
2016 India
2018 India
2022 Sri Lanka

[Total: 128 Average: 4.7]