This article has been reviewed and fact-checked by Wego’s editorial team.

As reported previously by the European Commission, travelers applying for a Schengen visa will face a price hike starting 11 June 2024. However, the visa prices will remain the same, that is, €35, for nationals of countries that have visa-facilitation agreements with the EU, Wego reports. 

You can check out Wego’s dedicated news article on the topic for more information

Schengen Visa Service Fee to Increase from €80 to €90 Starting 11 June 2024


Due to the visa-facilitation agreements these countries have with the EU, even if visa fees increase in the future, they will remain unchanged for the nationals of these particular countries.

List of countries that have a visa facilitation agreement with the EU: 

  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus (officials of the Belarus regime are exempt from the facilitations)
  • Cape Verde

The visa fees will also remain the same for nationals of 8 other countries as they do not possess biometric passports. These countries hold a visa-free agreement with the EU. The 8 countries are: 

  • Albania
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Georgia
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • North Macedonia
  • Serbia
  • Ukraine

Additionally, nationals from certain countries are exempt from paying the Schengen visa fee, even with the new changes. The list includes:

  • family members of EU citizens, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway or Switzerland — regardless of nationality, as well as holders of diplomatic, service or official passports.
  • pupils, students, postgraduate students and accompanying teachers who wish to enter one or more Schengen countries for the purpose of studies or professional training.
  • representatives of non-profit organizations younger than 26 years old participating in seminars, conferences, sports, cultural or educational events organized by non-profit organizations are also not required to pay the visa fees.