This article has been reviewed by Wego‘s editorial team to ensure that the content is up to date & accurate. 

Updated April 2024

When planning an international trip, it is important to make sure you have a valid passport. In addition to making sure your passport is still valid, many countries recommend that travellers have at least 6 months of validity remaining on their passport when traveling internationally.

Read on as Wego unveils which countries observe the 6-month passport validity rule for entry.

What is the 6-month passport validity rule?

The 6-month passport validity rule is a recommendation made by numerous countries worldwide that suggests travelers should have at least 6 months of validity remaining on their passport when traveling internationally. This recommendation is not a universal requirement, and the specific passport validity requirements can vary from one country to another.

Book cheap flights on Wego Book cheap flights on Wego


Countries observing the 6-month passport validity rule

The 6-month period may start on the day you depart from the country you are visiting or the day you arrive, depending on the prevailing rules. We strongly advise you to check with your airline, travel agent, or even the embassy or consulate of your destination country prior to booking flights.

The following countries observe the 6-month passport validity rule:

  • Afghanistan
  • Africa
  • Algeria
  • Anguilla
  • Bahrain
  • Bhutan
  • Botswana
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Cayman Islands
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Curacao
  • Côte D’Ivoire
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Indonesia
  • India
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Jordan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Laos
  • Madagascar
  • Malaysia
  • Marshall Island
  • Micronesia
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nicaragua
  • Nigeria
  • Oman
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • Somaliland
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • St. Lucia
  • Taiwan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tokelau
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen
  • Zimbabwe

Please note that the list of countries may be subject to change.

Countries not observing the 6-month passport rule

Some countries simply require a passport to be valid for 3 months following the date of scheduled arrival. The 3-month limit for passport validity is used by some of the most travelled countries worldwide.

  • Albania
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Czechia
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Honduras
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Nauru
  • North Macedonia
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Panama
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Senegal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

Please note that nationals of Albania, Honduras, North Macedonia, Panama, and Senegal require a 3-month passport validity from your arrival date into the country. Schengen countries require that you have a passport validity of 3 months from the date you intend to leave the EU.

Additionally, apart from the 6 or 3-month passport requirement, some countries may observe other validity periods as follows:

  • Bermuda: 45 days upon entry
  • Eritrea: 3 months on arrival
  • Hong Kong: 3 months on arrival
  • Lebanon: 3 months on arrival
  • Macau: 3 months on arrival
  • Micronesia: 4 months on arrival
  • South Africa: 3 months on arrival
  • The Maldives: 3 months on arrival
  • Zambia: 4 months on arrival

Can I travel if my passport expires in less than 6 months?

The 6-month passport validity rule is meant to ensure that travellers have a valid passport for the duration of their trip. Some countries will not permit travellers to enter their borders unless their passport has a minimum expiration date of at least 6 months after the final day of travel.

In short, should your passport have less than six months remaining until its expiration date, we advise you to first renew your passport before travelling.


[Total: 129 Average: 4.7]