This article has been reviewed and fact-checked by Wego’s editorial team.

In a move aimed at revitalizing the tourism sector, the Department of Immigration and Emigration Sri Lankan Identity Overseas announced the extension of its free visa program for nationals of seven countries until 30 April 2024, Wego reports. The pilot program, which was launched on 31 March 2023 and was initially scheduled to end on 31 March 2024, has been extended after receiving approval from the Cabinet of Ministers.

This announcement serves as a continuation of our previous reporting on the free visa initiative, accessible on our dedicated news page.

Sri Lankan Cabinet to Issue Free Visa Entry for India and 6 Other Countries


The countries benefiting from this extension include China, India, Indonesia, Russia, Thailand, Malaysia, and Japan. Nationals holding Diplomatic, Official, Public Affairs, Service, and Ordinary passports from these nations are eligible for visa-free entry into Sri Lanka.

Under this scheme, eligible travelers must apply for their visa through the official website prior to their arrival in Sri Lanka. The visa, granted free of charge, allows for a 30-day stay, with a single entry permitted from the date of arrival. However, the extension will not include provisions for visa extensions beyond the initial 30-day period.

Moreover, countries with existing bilateral agreements for visa exemptions, such as China, India, Russia, Indonesia, and Thailand, will continue to operate under the terms of those agreements. Travelers from countries not included in the aforementioned list are advised to adhere to the general rules and regulations governing Sri Lanka’s e-visa application process.

This extension underscores Sri Lanka’s commitment to stimulating tourism and fostering closer ties with key international partners.

Book cheap flights to Sri Lanka Book cheap flights to Sri Lanka