This article has been reviewed and fact-checked by Wego’s editorial team.

In a significant move to boost tourism, Sri Lanka has initiated a pilot program offering a visa-free regime for nationals from seven countries, including China, India, Indonesia, Russia, Thailand, Malaysia, and Japan. This program, which is effective immediately, will continue until 31 March 2024, as reported by Wego. The initiative was endorsed by the Cabinet of Ministers on 24 October 2023.


Under this scheme, nationals from the aforementioned countries who hold diplomatic, official, public affairs, service, and ordinary passports can avail themselves of the visa-free arrangement. However, they are required to obtain an Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) before entering Sri Lanka. This service is provided at no cost until 31 March 2024.

Tourists visiting Sri Lanka through this program can enjoy a 30-day visa-free stay with the option for a double entry within 30 days from their initial arrival. It’s important to note that if the 30-day visa period ends on or before 31 March 2024, no extensions will be granted. However, if the visa expires after this date, extensions can be sought by paying the appropriate visa fee.

This exclusive visa-free opportunity applies solely to the seven nominated countries. Nationals from other countries are advised to adhere to Sri Lanka’s standard ETA regulations.

To apply for the ETA, individuals can visit the official ETA website of Sri Lanka.