This article is reviewed regularly (on a monthly basis) by Wego’s editorial team to ensure that the content is up to date & accurate.

Updated 12 July 2021

After almost three months of havoc wreaked by the coronavirus, Tamil Nadu is finally seeing improvement in its case count, as the daily caseload had plunged down to around 3,000. The government is now gradually easing restrictions, revitalizing its stagnated economy.

The government has now extended complete lockdown in the state, till 6 AM on July 19 with several new relaxations. Here’s everything you need to know about this lockdown: what’s open, what’s not, and who’s exempted.

Tamil Nadu lockdown

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M.K. Stalin extended the COVID-19 lockdown for one more week from July 12 till 6 am on July 19 and offered state- wide relaxations.

Meanwhile, restrictions offered will now be applicable to all districts in the state, unlike the last time, when it was offered only to those that reported a significant drop in daily infections. The government cited the reduction in the spread of the coronavirus disease and the state’s economy for the move.


What is allowed?

Several major relaxations have been announced across the state with certain restrictions on timings and capacity:

  • Shops can now remain open till 9 PM. Air-conditioned shops must function with the windows opened.
  • Restaurants, tea shops, lodges, bakeries are allowed to have diners by following proper ventilation norms, standard operating procedures with only 50% seating capacity. They can stay open till 9 PM.
  • Clubs, gymnasiums and restaurants are allowed to function by following COVID appropriate behaviour.
  • Yoga practice centres can operate with proper ventilation and 50% capacity.
  • Malls and shopping complexes can remain open between 9am and 8pm. However, theatres and stadiums inside malls cannot operate.
  • Entertainment and amusement parks will be allowed to operate with half their capacity. Face masks, hand sanitisers should be mandatorily ensured by the management. Water sports remain prohibited.
  • Temples are allowed to open for the public following Covid appropriate behaviour. However, festivals and consecration ceremonies remain prohibited.
  • TASMAC shops are allowed to remain open between 10am and 8pm in the day.
  • Textile and jewellery shops can function with proper ventilation facilities and only 50% customers at a time.
  • IT and ITES companies can function with 50% attendance.
  • Hotels, lodges and guest houses would be allowed to operate. However, eateries and dormitories in these places can only have 50% capacity.
  • Business to Business exhibitions would be allowed only for those attendees with an invite. Also, the organisers, shop owners and workers in these exhibitions must either be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 or possess a negative RT PCR report.
  • Museums, sites under the archaeology department and excavation sites can remain open between 10am and 5pm.
  • Students of research studies can work in their institutions regarding educational project works.

Only emergency services and medical emergencies will be allowed in COVID-19 containment zones in the state. Teams will be deployed in these zones for door-to-door monitoring of the spread of the disease.

The Union and State government departments conducting written examinations for recruitment can do so by informing the Collectors and adhering to the protocol.

The number of people allowed at marriages has been capped at 50 while the crowd allowed at deaths and funerals has been capped at 20


What is closed to visitors/attendees?

The government has put a strict ban on:

  • Recreation clubs, swimming pools, auditoriums, meeting halls.
  • All social, political, sports, recreational, educational and cultural events would not be allowed to be held in either indoor spaces or outdoor.
  • Summer camps
  • Schools and college


Will transport facilities be available?

Passengers would be allowed to travel in taxies, cabs and auto-rickshaws without e-registration. Excluding the driver, only three passengers in taxies and only two in case of autos would be allowed.

Government buses can run between districts without air conditioning and only half the passenger capacity. Standing passengers are not allowed.


Can you travel to/from Tamil Nadu during the lockdown?

Travellers can enter Tamil Nadu only for essential or unavoidable reasons. 

All travelers must download the Aarogya Setu app. Inter and intra-district travel does not require e-pass anymore. 


Will Tamil Nadu lockdown be extended?

The government is yet to announce further extensions for complete lockdown in the state. The ongoing lockdown may increase only after assessing the effect of the current lockdown in the state. 


What is the Tamil Nadu e-Pass and who needs it?

E-pass has been made mandatory for not just entering Tamil Nadu for inter-state travel. In a major relief, the government has revoked the e-pass or the e-registration for people travelling between districts in the state.

All travellers coming from foreign countries to Tamil Nadu by air and ship should also avail the e-pass. 

Follow these steps to receive your e-pass:

  • Visit the TN e-registration website
  • You will need to register yourself before filling the form. Enter your mobile number and the captcha to receive an OTP.
  • Once you enter the OTP, you will be directed to a page where you have to select your mode of transport and type of e-pass you want
  • After selecting the type of e-pass that you require, you need to fill in necessary details such as your name, address, duration of travel, number of passengers, etc.
  • You will need to furnish the required documents for the travel, such as medical records in case of a medical emergency or wedding invitation if the journey is for a wedding.
  • Once the details are filled in, verification will be done. Both documents and ID proof have to be submitted. Once they are confirmed, the e-pass will be processed.
  • You will be required to present your Aadhar Card or Voter ID, PAN Card, address proof, vehicle license and employment ID to avail the e-pass.