This article has been reviewed by Wego’s editorial team to ensure that the content is up to date & accurate.

Updated February 2023

Travelers around the world are eager to start this auspicious year by partaking in activities that they are most passionate about. With the number of COVID-19 cases fluctuating, travellers should expect both the easing and tightening of travel regulations, including the possibility of countries implementing travel bans. Here, we have gathered the countries that have or still imposing travel bans for inbound travelers.

Travel ban 2023 news

Many countries have taken swift responses to the proliferating number of COVID-19 cases in China. A number of governments have put in place preventive measures extending to PCR test and quarantine requirements or a combination of the two for arrivals from China. Some have even taken a step further by banning outright passengers coming from China.

Book cheap flights on Wego


Travel ban for passengers from China

Due to the surge of COVID-19 cases in China, some countries are reinstating travel bans to avoid further virus transmissions. The travel ban will remain in effect until further notice.


The foreign ministry of Morocco has announced the ban on tourists coming from China, regardless of nationality. The travel ban for inbound travelers from China has been in effect since 3 January.

Travel bans for all inbound passengers

Most countries have lifted travel bans for inbound travelers due to the situation seemingly returning to normalcy. However, there are still countries imposing strict regulations for all inbound travellers, which may extend to a traveler’s vaccine status. Please note that due to the fluidity of the situation, the following list of countries may not be an exhaustive one. Furthermore, the implemented testing measures are likely subject to change.


While the Chinese authorities have lifted some travel restrictions for international arrivals, tourist visa holders, as well as 10-year visa holders, are still barred from entering China. At present, China has opened its borders only to the following categories:

  • those holding a valid Chinese residence permit for work, study, personal matters, or reunion
  • those holding a diplomatic, service, courtesy, or C visa
  • those holding valid APEC business cards
  • those holding new Z-,M-,R-,X1,Q-, and S-visas

Apart from the aforementioned, no other categories may enter China at the moment.


Indonesia is only open to vaccinated travellers at this time. Non-vaccinated may enter the country only with a negative COVID-19 test, a 5-day hotel quarantine, and the agreement to receive the first dose of the vaccine at their quarantine hotel.

North Korea

Since the beginning of the outbreaks in 2020, North Korea has not yet opened their borders to all visitors, including their own citizens. Anyone who intends to visit North Korea should wait for further announcements from the North Korean government.


Currently, Turkmenistan has its borders closed to international travellers. Only Turkmen nationals and permanently registered foreigners are allowed to enter the country.

The US

Though the US has opened its border for all travellers, it still disallows unvaccinated travellers to visit the country. However, this rule does not apply to US citizens, US nationals, lawful permanent residents, or those travelling to the US on an immigrant visa.

The Turks and Caicos Islands

This region is currently known for their strict entry requirements, probably the most strict requirements among the other Caribbean territory. They prohibit non-fully vaccinated travellers who are 18 years old or older from entering the islands. This rule will remain in effect until 31 March 2023.

[Total: 122 Average: 4.8]