This article has been reviewed by Wego’s editorial team to ensure that the content is up to date & accurate.

Updated February 2024

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has garnered significant popularity as a sought-after location for tourists, expatriates, and business professionals from across the globe. Its avant-garde cities, opulent cultural heritage, and thriving economic opportunities have consistently captivated millions of visitors each year. However, the UAE has implemented a visa ban on some African countries, which is yet to be lifted.


Read on as Wego provides you with the latest update on UAE’s visa ban.

Table of Contents

UAE visa ban

According to reports from the African news portal, the United Arab Emirates has prohibited citizens of these African nations from entering Dubai, the country’s capital.

The following countries will be affected by the recent decision introduced by authorities in UAE:

  1. Uganda
  2. Sierra Leone
  3. Ghana
  4. Sudan
  5. Cameroon
  6. Burundi
  7. Liberia
  8. Republic of Guinea
  9. Togo
  10. Gambia
  11. Democratic Republic of Congo
  12. Senegal
  13. Benin
  14. Congo
  15. Ivory Coast
  16. Rwanda
  17. Guinea Bissau
  18. Burkina Faso
  19. Comoros

Any applications for 30-day visas from the countries mentioned above will be sent back or cancelled until further notice.

UAE visa ban Lebanon

As confirmed by Lebanon’s foreign minister Abdallah Bou Habib, following a temporary suspension over security concerns,  the United Arab Emirates has now lifted a visa ban on Lebanese nationals.

The confirmation comes after Lebanese citizens reported that visas for Lebanese outside the UAE were not being granted, and travel agents said they were unable to request UAE visas for Lebanese nationals through the usual online system.



[Total: 269 Average: 4.7]