This article has been reviewed by Wego’s editorial team to ensure that the content is up to date & accurate.

Updated October 2023

The 2030 FIFA World Cup is an international association football tournament contested by the senior men’s national teams of the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA). As a commemoration of the centenary World Cup competition, the 24th edition of this tournament holds remarkable significance, creating a historic moment as it will be hosted across six nations.

The FIFA Council has recently unveiled exciting details about the 2030 World Cup. Read on as Wego delves into the details of the 2030 FIFA World Cup tournament. 

World Cup 2030 news

FIFA recently announced its intentions to host the 2030 World Cup in Morocco, Portugal, Spain, Argentina, Paraguay, and Uruguay. Notably, all six nations are granted automatic qualification for this prestigious event. The decision emerged during a virtual FIFA council meeting, pending final confirmation by all 211 FIFA member nations, expected to take place ahead of the FIFA Congress.

According to a statement provided by FIFA, “In 2030, the FIFA World Cup will unite three continents and six countries, inviting the entire world to join in the celebration of the beautiful game, the Centenary and the FIFA World Cup itself,”

FIFA further explained that the World Cup matches in South America are part of the centennial commemoration of the inaugural World Cup held in Uruguay. According to FIFA, the three South American nations will each host one match, with the first of these matches occurring at the historic Estádio Centenário in Montevideo, the birthplace of the tournament.

World Cup 2030 host

The 24th edition of the 2030 FIFA World Cup tournament is highly anticipated, as it signifies a historic milestone in the history of the FIFA World Cup. For the first time, this renowned tournament will be jointly hosted across three different countries spanning two continents.

The FIFA Council unanimously chose the combined bid of Morocco, Portugal, and Spain, setting the stage for an extraordinary event in 2030. Furthermore, Argentina, Paraguay, and Uruguay will play the role of host nations, marking a commemorative celebration of the 100th anniversary of the inaugural World Cup.

When and where is the World Cup 2030?

As mentioned above, in light of the World Cup’s centennial milestone, the council unanimously decided to flag off the first 2030 FIFA World Cup match in Montevideo, the capital of Uruguay. This choice holds immense historical significance, as Montevideo was the host city for the first-ever FIFA game in 1930. 

Following this, the next two consecutive matches will take place in Argentina and Paraguay, respectively. However, with the progression of the tournament, the venue for the remaining matches will shift to Morocco, Portugal and Spain.

Consequently, with the inclusion of these three South American countries and the three host countries, six nations will come together to serve as the venue for the 2030 FIFA World Cup. 

Please note that the dates for the 2030 FIFA World Cup are yet to be finalized. We will update the information as and when released by the authorities.

World Cup 2030 stadiums

Although the stadiums for the 2030 FIFA World Cup are yet to be confirmed, the following are some of the potential stadiums across which the matches for the tournament can take place:

*Please note that the stadiums are subject to change*


The 2030 FIFA World Cup tournament matches will be held across the following stadiums in Spain:


Camp Nou – Capacity: 99,354

Stage Front Stadium (RCDE Stadium) – Capacity: 40,000


Santiago Bernabéu Stadium – Capacity: 84,744

Metropolitano Stadium – Capacity: 70,460


Nou Mestalla – Capacity: 70,000


La Cartuja – Capacity: 60,721


San Mamés – Capacity: 53,289


Nueva Condomina – Capacity: 31,179


El Molinón – Capacity: 29,029


La Rosaleda – Capacity: 30,044


La Romareda – Capacity: 33,608


Balaídos – Capacity: 29,000

La Coruña

Riazor – Capacity: 32,660

Las Palmas

Estadio Gran Canaria – Capacity: 32,392

San Sebastián

Anoeta Stadium – Capacity: 40,000


The 2030 FIFA World Cup tournament matches will be held across the following stadiums in Portugal:


Estádio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica – Capacity: 64,642

Estádio José Alvalade – Capacity: 50,095


Estádio do Dragão – Capacity: 50,033


The 2030 FIFA World Cup tournament matches will be held across the following stadiums in Morocco:


Grand Stade de Casablanca – Capacity: 93,000


Prince Moulay Abdellah Stadium – Capacity: 53,000


Ibn Batouta Stadium – Capacity: 65,000


Adrar Stadium – Capacity: 45,480


Marrakesh Stadium – Capacity: 45,240


Fez Stadium – Capacity: 45,000

Centenary ceremony match

The centenary ceremony matches for the 2030 FIFA World Cup, will be held across the host cities of Uruguay, Argentina and Paraguay, at the following stadiums:

Montevideo, Uruguay

Estadio Centenario – Capacity: 60,000

Buenos Aires, Argentina

Antonio Vespucio Liberti – Capacity: 83,000

Luque, Paraguay

Estadio Conmebol – Capacity: 60,000

World Cup 2030 schedule

The schedule for the 24th edition of the 2030 FIFA World Cup is yet to be released. 

 Please note that we will update the schedule as and when released by the officials. 


[Total: 132 Average: 4.7]