This article is reviewed regularly (on a monthly basis) by Wego’s editorial team to ensure that the content is up to date & accurate.

Updated 23 September 2022

After a year of stringent restrictions, Qatar has started easing its Covid-19 restrictions for people around the world looking to travel to the country. Naturally, those looking to once again cross paths with the small Middle Eastern country would first need to familiarize themselves with the latest Qatar visa regulations. 

If you’re among those planning to take a trip to Qatar, here is all you need to know about the various available Qatar visas along with their requirements and validity.

Please note: Effective 1 November 2022, the authorities in Qatar have announced the suspension of entry for visitors into the country until 23 December 2022. Only Hayya Card holders, Qatari citizens, residents and GCC citizens holding a Qatari ID card, holders of personal visas, work entry permits and approved humanitarian cases will be allowed entry during this period. 

Visa-free countries

Staying true to its slogan of ‘the most open country in the Middle East,’ Qatar is providing citizens of around 95 countries the opportunity of visa-free entry or acquiring visa-waiver upon arrival.

Visitors from visa-exempt countries must ensure their passport has a minimum validity of at least six months along with a confirmed onward or return ticket.

90-day stay period

For nationals of the countries listed below, the waiver will be valid for 180 days from the date of issuance and entitle its holder to spend up to 90 days in Qatar, during either a single trip or on multiple trips:

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, The Czech Republic,  Denmark, Dominican Republic, Estonia, Finland,  France, Germany, Greece, Holland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Netherlands,  Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Seychelles, Slovakia,  Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine 

30-day stay period

For citizens of the following countries, a visa-free stay of 30 days is allowed from the date of issuance and may be extended for another 30 days.

Andorra, Australia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Falkland Islands, French Guiana, Georgia, Guyana, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Japan, Kazakhstan, Lebanon, Macau, Macedonia, Maldives, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Russia, Rwanda, San Marino, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Suriname, Thailand, The United Kingdom, The United States, Uruguay, Vatican City, Venezuela 


Additional requirements for Indian travellers:

  • Passport must be valid for at least 6 months
  • Return ticket must be confirmed
  • The arriving passenger must possess a minimum cash amount of USD 1400 or a valid credit card, this is applicable for the entire family
  • Hotel quarantine booking for the number of days is advised based on the latest travel advisory
  • Must be fully vaccinated with vaccines approved by the Ministry of Public Health and have completed a period of 14 days after the last dose
  • Must have a certificate confirming negative PCR test completed during the 72 hours from the time of arrival
  • Must have an electronic registration completed on the Ehteraz platform ( to obtain the approval of the Ministry of Public Health before travelling

Please note that passengers from India, who have not received both doses of the vaccine 14 days prior to arrival will not be allowed to enter the State of Qatar.


Additional requirements for Pakistani travellers:

  • Passport must be valid for at least 6 months
  • Return ticket must be confirmed
  • Hotel quarantine booking for the number of days is advised based on the latest travel advisory
  • The passenger must have a valid credit card
  • Must have a certificate confirming negative PCR test completed during the 72 hours from the time of arrival
  • Those coming directly from Pakistan should present a certificate of vaccination against polio
  • The duration of the visa can be extended only after confirming the return ticket

Visa exemptions

Nationals of the Gulf Cooperation Council countries (Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates) do not require a visa to enter Qatar.


Visa on Arrival

Qatar-Oman Joint Tourist Visa (Visa on Arrival)

The Qatar-Oman Joint Tourist Visa is a visa issued upon arrival and grants multiple entries to both countries. The visa is valid for 30 days and can be extended for an additional 30 days. Citizens of the following countries are eligible for the joint visa:

Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Canada, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, The United States, Vatican City


Electronic Travel Authorisation

Foreign nationals of non-visa exempt countries but holding a valid residence permit or visit visa to either Schengen countries, Australia, Canada, UK, USA or New Zealand, may apply for an Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA) free of charge.

Travellers will be asked to provide the following:

  • proof of accommodation in Qatar (hotel booking or the host’s address)
  • details of return (or onward) travel
  • a copy of a valid passport (with a minimum validity of six months)
  • a copy of a residence permit or visa to any one of the eligible countries stated above (with a minimum validity of 30 days)


Tourist Visa

Foreign nationals not eligible for both visa-free entry or ETA may apply online for a Tourist Visa. Travellers heading for Qatar onboard any airline can apply for a Tourist Visa through the Qatar Visa Service for a fee of QAR 100. Holders of the Tourist Visa may stay for a maximum period of 30 days on a single trip.

Qatar Tourist Visa requirements are as follows:

  • complete an online form
  • upload required documents (including passport scans & personal photographs)
  • provide an airline booking reservation
  • make an online payment using a valid Visa or Mastercard


Qatar Transit Visa

Passengers transiting in Qatar for a minimum of 5 hours are eligible to apply for the Qatar Transit Visa. The pre-approved transit visa is issued free of charge and is valid for a duration between 5 to 96 hours (4 days). The visa is open to passengers of all nationalities.


GCC Resident Visit Visa

For residents of GCC countries, a single-entry visa can be obtained for a fee of QAR 100, payable by Visa or Mastercard. The visa is valid for 30 days and may be renewed for an additional three months. Those looking to acquire said visa may be asked to present official documentation stating their profession upon entry to Qatar.