This article is reviewed regularly by Wego’s editorial team to ensure that the content is up to date & accurate.

Reviewed April 2024

The Umrah is a minor and non-compulsory pilgrimage that any able-bodied Muslim with the financial means to do so may undertake in order to gain the blessings and favor of the Almighty Allah.

Pilgrims looking to fulfill this religious calling must first obtain an Umrah visa. However, to avoid the long and tedious process of visiting an embassy to apply for a visa, pilgrims from eligible countries can now apply for the Umrah e-visa, which takes around five to thirty minutes to get processed.

Wego has compiled everything you need to know about the Umrah e-visa, including its requirements, eligible countries, the application process, processing time, fees, and more.

Umrah e-visa 2024 latest news

The Ministry of Hajj and Umrah has initiated the issuance of digital visas for Umrah as part of its efforts to facilitate the arrival of a greater number of Muslims to the Kingdom for the purpose of performing the Umrah pilgrimage. This initiative aims to streamline the procedures involved in undertaking the Umrah pilgrimage and aligns with the objectives outlined in Saudi Vision 2030, which seeks to enhance the quality of Umrah services.

According to the ministry, individuals interested in obtaining electronic visas can now submit their applications through the Nusuk platform. This will enable them to commence their journey to the Kingdom starting from July 19.

As part of recently implemented regulations, the Ministry of Hajj and Umrah has introduced several amenities for Umrah performers. These include a significant reduction of 63% in insurance fees while ensuring the sustainability of healthcare services. Additionally, the issuance of Umrah visas will be expedited, taking less than 24 hours, and the duration of the Umrah visa has been extended from 30 days to 90 days, with no health requirements.

Umrah e-visa 2024

The Umrah e-visa, also known as the Saudi e-visa, encompasses tourism-related activities and Umrah, excluding the Hajj season. It is a multiple-entry visa valid for one year, enabling eligible travelers to stay in the country for a maximum of 90 days.

Book cheap flights to Saudi Arabia


Umrah e-visa validity

The Umrah e-visa is a multiple-entry visa valid for one year, allowing eligible travelers from specific countries to stay in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA) for a maximum of 90 days.

Umrah e-visa eligible countries

The following are the eligible countries for the Umrah e-visa:

North America

Canada, Panama, Saint Kitts and Nevis, and the United States.


Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom.


Azerbaijan, Brunei, China (Including Hong Kong And Macau), Japan, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Maldives, Singapore, South Korea, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, and Uzbekistan


South Africa, Mauritius, Seychelles.


Australia, New Zealand.

GCC residents

The GCC residents can also apply for the Umrah e-visa if they meet specific requirements. More on this below.

Umrah e-visa requirements

For all eligible countries

The requirements for an Umrah e-visa for all other eligible countries are as follows:

  • a completed Umrah visa application form, which can be filled out on the website.
  • a valid passport
  • a recent passport photo
  • a valid email address
  • a debit or credit card

For GCC residents

To be eligible to apply for the Saudi or Umrah e-visa, GCC residents must meet the following conditions:

  • the residency document must be valid for three (3) months
  • the passport must be valid for at least six (6) months
  • a parent application is mandatory for children under the age of 18

For travelers from the UK, Tunisia, Kuwait, Bangladesh and Malaysia

The Umrah pilgrims from five countries – UK, Tunisia, Kuwait, Bangladesh and Malaysia must mandatorily provide their biometric data, including fingerprints, in order to get an electronic Umrah visa.

Interested pilgrims will have to use the Saudi Visa Bio app (android & iOS) that allows for visa registration via fingerprints and selfie biometrics without the need to visit the embassies and consulates of Saudi Arabia or visa issuance centers in their respective countries.

The registration of vital features on the app is carried out through four steps such as the automated reading of the passport, identification of the type of visa, taking a photo of the face, and fingerprinting.

Umrah e-visa application

For GCC citizens

To apply for the Umrah e-visa, GCC residents need to follow the steps given below:

  • visit the MOFA website and log in to your account.
  • fill out the required information.
  • upload the required eVisa documents

Once approved, you will receive your Umrah e-visa via email.

For other countries

To apply for the Umrah e-visa online, follow the steps given below:

  • visit and register or log in to the website
  • fill out the online visa application form
  • pay the required visa fee
  • you will receive an e-visa via email

Umrah e-visa processing time

The issuance of the Umrah e-visa takes around 5 to 30 minutes.

Umrah e-visa fee

The cost of an Umrah or Saudi tourist e-visa is SAR 535 (USD 142) and includes full health insurance during the traveler’s stay in the country. For GCC residents, the Umrah e-visa costs SAR 300 (USD 79) plus full health insurance fees.

Alternatively, you can visit our dedicated Umrah visa article to learn more about all the available visas for Umrah.

[Total: 114 Average: 4.5]