This article has been reviewed and fact-checked by Wego’s editorial team.

In a recent development, senior officials from the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) and the European Union (EU) have reportedly engaged in discussions about the implementation of a visa waiver process for GCC citizens in the Schengen area, according to a report by Wego.


The dialogue took place during a meeting held in Brussels on March 18. GCC Secretary-General Jasem Mohamed Al Budaiwi and Deputy Secretary-General of the EU’s External Action Service Enrique Mora attended the meeting. The discussion covered various topics of mutual interest, reflecting the strategic partnership between the GCC and the EU.

This discussion follows Al Budaiwi’s announcement on Saudi Television Channel 1, where he revealed plans to advocate for the visa waiver. The engagement with European Union leaders in Brussels, Belgium, is expected to further these discussions.

Gulf Nationals May Soon be Exempted From Schengen Visa Requirements


The Schengen visa facilitates short-term travel across 27 European member countries for up to 90 days, providing access to popular destinations such as Germany, Spain, France, and Italy. The Schengen area countries include Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. Depending on the traveler’s requirements, the visa can be either a single-entry or a multi-entry visa valid for up to five years.