This article is reviewed regularly by Wego’s editorial team to ensure that the content is up to date & accurate

Updated March 2024

An exquisite getaway along the enchanting European shores, Ireland is a land where enchanting landscapes meet rich history and vibrant culture. For those yearning for the pleasure of travel without the complexities of visa procedures, Ireland welcomes citizens from specific countries, offering them the privilege of entering without a visa.

Book cheap flights to Ireland


In this article, Wego elaborates on the details regarding countries eligible for visa-free travel to Ireland.

Which countries are eligible for visa-free entry to Ireland?

Ireland has a visa-free regime for visitors from specific countries, with a stay duration of up to 3 months. However, while Ireland is a member of the European Union, it remains outside the Schengen Area and thus upholds its unique visa policies.

Moreover, since Ireland is not a part of the Schengen Agreement, possessing a Schengen visa or residence permit does not grant you permission to travel to Ireland without a separate visa.

In general, if you fall into one of the categories below, you typically do not require a visa for Ireland:

  • you are a citizen of the EU or the EEA (which includes Iceland, Norway, and Lichtenstein) or Switzerland
  • you possess a residence card issued by an EEA country or Switzerland as a family member of an EEA or Swiss citizen residing outside of the EEA/Swiss family member’s home country. For instance, if you reside in Germany with your French spouse
  • you hold a UK short-stay visa and meet the criteria for the short-stay visa waiver or the British-Irish Visa Scheme (refer to ‘Visa waivers for UK visa holders’ below)
  • you are a school student residing in an EU/EEA country and are traveling as part of a school trip (see ‘School Student Visa Waiver’ below)

More specifically, listed below are the countries whose citizens can travel to Ireland without a visa:

EU and EEA member states

Foreign nationals from the following EU and EEA member states are exempt from obtaining a visa to enter Ireland:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Republic of Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden

Other countries

However, individuals from other countries must obtain an Irish visa before their arrival, except nationals from the following countries, who are permitted to visit Ireland for up to 3 months without a visa:

  • Andorra
  • Antigua & Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados Macau (Special Admin. Region)
  • Belize Malaysia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Costa Rica
  • El Salvador
  • Fiji
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Hong Kong (Special Admin. Region)
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Maldives
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Nauru
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Saint Kitts & Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent & the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Swaziland (Eswatini)
  • Taiwan
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Vatican City

British-Irish Visa Scheme

The British Irish Visa Scheme (BIVS) enables specific individuals to travel within the Common Travel Area (CTA), which comprises Ireland and the United Kingdom (excluding the Isle of Man and the Channel Islands), using a single visa for short stays.

To benefit from this scheme, your visa must bear the endorsement ‘BIVS.’ A visa officer will assess each eligible visa for ‘BIVS’ endorsement. There is no recourse for an appeal if a visa is not endorsed by ‘BIVS.’

Chinese nationals residing in China (including Hong Kong and Macau) at the time of application and Indian nationals residing in India during the application period are eligible for the British-Irish Visa Scheme.


[Total: 145 Average: 4.7]