This article is reviewed regularly (on a monthly basis) by Wego’s editorial team to ensure that the content is up to date & accurate.

Updated 8 April 2021

The capital of the United Arab Emirates, Abu Dhabi, has reopened for international travels. But while tourists and residents alike are permitted to enter Abu Dhabi, strict measures extending to PCR tests and quarantine are currently in effect. It’s worth noting that these measures also apply to travellers from neighboring Dubai.

However, if you are travelling to Abu Dhabi from a country on the green list, you would not need to serve quarantine. The following is the full list of green countries, regions and territories allowed entry into Abu Dhabi.

Green List UAE

  • Australia
  • Bhutan
  • Brunei
  • China
  • Greenland
  • Hong Kong (SAR)
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • Mauritius
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea


Abu Dhabi entry regulations

Only UAE nationals, residents with a valid residence visa, and those who are eligible for a visa on arrival can enter the UAE through Abu Dhabi’s airports. All other types of visas remain suspended. If you are travelling to Abu Dhabi, you must follow these additional rules:

  • take the PCR test 72 hours before your flight
  • download the ALHOSN UAE app on your mobile phones before you travel to Abu Dhabi
  • undergo a thermal screening and another COVID-19 PCR testing on arrival at Abu Dhabi airport

Travelling to Abu Dhabi no longer requires approval from Federal Authority for Identity and Citizenship (ICA). However, you are recommended to visit and submit your passport number and Emirates ID number to receive instant verification of your entry status.


Abu Dhabi quarantine regulations

Once you’ve completed your COVID-19 PCR test, you’ll be required to self-isolate at home or at your hotel for 10 days. If your test is positive, you will need to follow further formalities and are required to repeat a COVID-19 PCR test on day 8 of quarantine. 

You will be fitted with a medically approved wristband for the duration of your quarantine and required to sign a quarantine undertaking form. Subject to a negative test result, your wristband will then be removed on day 10. 

Children under 12 are exempt from testing unless they show symptoms of Coronavirus.